IESL NSW Chapter committee members 2017

dayantha-2Chair – Eng. Dayantha Jayarathna B.Sc. Eng. M.Sc. Eng. MIESL MIEEE Graduated from University of Moratuwa in 1982 served in Ceylon Electricity Board as a Communications engineer till 1989. Dayantha served as Research and Development Engineer at number of leading companies Sydney and specialised in  VoIP and Broadband technologies. He worked as a Business Development manager in a few private sector companies. Dayantha  completed his Master’s Degree from University of NSW in 2002. He moved in to the technical training sector in  2010 and still continues to serve in the vocational education sector in Australia.

ananda2Past Chair- Eng. Ananda Herath completed the NDT Civil Engineering at University of Sri Lanka, Katubedde Campus (1977), IESL Civil Engineering Part 2 (1982), and MEng at University of Moratuwa (1995). He has over 38 years of experience in Civil Engineering in Sri Lanka, Nigeria, New Zealand and Australia. Ananda currently works as the Area Maintenance Manager Central Coast with Roads and Maritime Services, NSW

bandula-2Vice Chair – Eng. Bandula Subasinghe, B.Sc. Eng (Elec- Hons), MIEA, AMIESL Graduated from University of Moratuwa B.Sc. Eng. (Electrical -Hons) in 2004. Bandula has over 12 years of experience in building services engineering design and multi-disciplinary project management in Sri Lanka, The United States of America and Australia. She possesses knowledge and experience in residential, retail and commercial through to health care, age care, pharmaceutical, educational, and Industrial projects.
Bandula has obtained expertise in internal/external lighting, power, security & CCTV, lightning protection, fire detection, exit & emergency lighting, voice & data communications, and audio visual systems designs. Currently she is working at Arrow Consulting Engineers as a Senior Electrical Engineer.

rohitha-2Secretary, Public officer – Eng. Rohitha Silva is a civil engineering honours graduate of the University of Moratuwa in 1991 and obtained MEng in structural engineering in 1994 from AIT. He has 25 years of experience in design and construction. He has been involved in the design and construction of over 80 projects in both Australia and Thailand. He has been involved in design deliveries, design verifications, design management activities etc. His design experience includes buildings, bridges, underpasses, industrial plants, airports, rails, tunnels etc. In Bangkok, Thailand, he worked at Unique Engineering and Construction Public Co., Ltd for 14 years and managed the Design and Technical Division. Since 2008, Rohitha has been working with SMEC as a Principal Bridge Designer.

mano-2Treasurer – Eng. Mahendram Manoharan  graduated from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka (B.Sc Eng). He has over 25 years experience in the Water and Sewer industry in Sri Lanka and Australia, and currently works as the Water and Sewer Projects Engineer at Hilltops Council NSW






Editor – Eng. Sarath Wijayapala is a mechanical engineering honours graduate of the University of Peradeniya 1970, MBA (Technology Management) Deakin University 1993, M Sc. (Explosives Ordnance Engineering) Cranfield University 2001. He has 46 years’ experience gained in Sri Lanka and Australia in maritime engineering, explosives engineering and project management. He is an Honorary Life Fellow of IESL



amali-2Committee Member- Eng. Amali Wickramasinghe is an Electrical Engineer, Graduated from the University of Moratuwa in 2001. She has obtained her PG diploma (Energy Technology) from the same University in 2005. Amali is a Practicing Charted professional Engineer (CPEng, MIESL) and a Project Management Professional (PMP). She possesses over 15 years of experience gained in Sri Lanka and Australia attached to Electricity Supply Industry. She is presently working in Asset Standard and Design Branch of Endeavour Energy, NSW




Committee Member – Eng. (Dr.)  Buddhi Wijerathna is an Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering graduate from the University of Moratuwa in 2011. After graduation, he joined Dialog Axiata (Pvt) Ltd as a research engineer while working as an assistant lecturer, in the University of Moratuwa. He gained his PhD from The University of Technology Sydney in robotics and currently he is a research fellow at the Centre for Autonomous Systems, University of Technology Sydney.




Committee Member Eng. ( Dr.) Ravindra Prathapa  is a graduate of the University of Peradeniya (BSc Eng. Hons.) 1978. He also holds a Masters of Engineering in Applied Hydrology from the University of Moratuwa 1985 and a PhD in Engineering from the University of Sydney 2008. He is a Specialist Pavement Materials Engineer with major road project experience in Sri Lanka, India, Indonesia and Australia. His research interests include: Shakedown analysis of road pavements, effects of heavy vehicle loading on road pavements and modelling of moisture movements within the pavement structure.




Committee Member – Eng. ( Dr.) Madhuka Jayawardhana is an Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering graduate from the University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka (2007). She worked as a Radio network planning and optimization engineer at Sri Lanka Telecom Mobitel for two years and briefly as a Lecturer at the University of Moratuwa before pursuing her higher studies. She gained her PhD from the University of Western Sydney in 2014 and currently works as a Post-doctoral Researcher at the School of Electrical and Information Engineering, University of Sydney




Committee Member – Eng. Pubudu Jayathilaka graduated from Department of Earth Resources Engineering, University of Moratuwa (2010) as a Mining Engineer. He has contributed as a Temporary Lecturer for University of Moratuwa, Materials Engineer for HOVAEL Constructions and Project Engineer for VV Karunaratne & Com. Currently he is a PhD candidate at University of Wollongong in the field of geo technical engineering


Auditor Mr. Prabhath Amarasinghe

Website and IT Systems Administrator – Eng. Pamal Dias