## Awards Presentation at the Gala Nite 2019

This year at the Gala Nite awards were presented in the following categories:

- Excellence Awards for the winners of best paper published in a professional forum, best innovation or invention and best applied engineering project.
- Past Chairs to recognise their dedication and contribution to the Chapter activities during last 9 years.
- World Federation of Engineering Organisations current president Dr Marlene Kanga for her contribution to Chapter activities and world engineering.
- Public lecture speakers for volunteering to share their expert knowledge.
- Young Engineers Day (YED) speakers and YED Guest Speaker for volunteering to share their knowledge.
- Gala Nite sponsors for recognition of their continuous support for the Chapter activities.
- The IESL Journalism Award presented to Eng. Janaka Seneviratne.
- A special award presented to the World Best Teachers top ten finalist Ms. Yasodai Selvakumaran.

The photographs of awards presentations are shown below.



Exchange of mementos between IESL President Eng. Prof. T. M. Pallewatta and Chapter Chair Eng. Rohitha Silva



The IESL President presenting an award to WFEO President Dr. Marlene Kanga



The IESL President presenting a memento to Consul General Mr. Lal Wickramatunge



The IESL President presenting a memento to Keynote Speaker Distinguished Professor Buddhima Indraratna

#### **Engineering Excellence Awards Presentation**







Eng. Nilindu Muthubandara conducting the Engineering Excellence Award Presentation

Eng. Buddhi Ranasinghe conducting the Engineering Excellence Award Presentation

Eng. Dr. Chinthaka Fonseka explaining evaluation of Excellence Awards



The Best Paper Published Excellence Award was won by Eng. Lakshitha Fernando. The award was presented by the IESL President



The Best Paper Published Highly Commended Award was won by Eng. Subhani Medawela and award was presented by the IESL President. The award was received by Distinguished Professor Buddhima Indraratna on Subhani's behalf



The Innovation and/or Invention Excellence Award was won by Eng. Distinguished Prof. Gamini Dissanayake, Eng. Dammika Vitanage, Eng. Jeya Ragalingam. The award was presented by the WFEO President



The Innovation and/or Invention Highly Commended Award was won by Eng. Indaka Raigama. The award was presented by the WFEO President





The Best Applied Engineering Project Excellence Award was won by Eng. Dr. Kanchana Thilakarathna. The award was presented by the IESL President The Best Applied Engineering Project Highly Commended award was won by Eng. A/Prof. Sarath Kodagoda. The award was presented by the IESL President

# **Special Recognition Awards Presentation**



The IESL Award for Excellence in Engineering Journalism 2018 Merit Award was awarded to Eng. Janaka Seneviratna by the IESL President



The IESL President presenting the award to Ms. Yasodai Selvakumaran for recognition of her being selected to top 10 finalist of The World Best Teachers Award



The IESL President presenting the award to YED Guest Speaker Eng. Bas G Baskaran



The IESL President presenting the award to Public Lecture Speaker Eng. A/Prof. Sarath Kodagoda



The IESL President presenting the award to Public Lecture Speaker Eng. Dr Nalin Pahalawaththa



The IESL President presenting the award to Public Lecture Speaker Eng. Prof. Arumugam Sathaasivan



The IESL President presenting the award to Public Lecture Speaker Eng. Dr K. Ramanathan

#### **Special Recognition Awards Presentation for Sponsors**



Eng. Dr Tissa Abeyratna conducting the Special Recognitions Awards Presentation



The IESL President presenting the award to Platinum Sponsor Avopiling Group of Companies General Manager Eng. Bas G Baskaran



The IESL President presenting the award to Platinum Sponsor Dulux Australia NSW Sales Manager Mr. Vijesh Maharaj



The IESL President presenting the award to Premium Sponsor SMEC Australia NSW State Manager Mr. Peter Humphrey

### **Special Recognition Awards Presentation for Past Chairs**



The Chapter Vice Chair Eng. Manoharan conducting Chapter Past Chairs' Awards Presentation



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2009) Eng. Nihal Fernando



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2011) Eng. Maya Amaraweera



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2014) Eng. Waruna Kaluarachchi



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2015) Eng. Ananda Herath



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2016) Eng. Dayantha Jayarathna



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2017) Eng. Sarath Wijayapala



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2012) Late Eng. Kamal Fernando. Received by committee member Eng. Dr Udeshini Pathirage



The IESL President presenting the award to Past Chair (2013) Eng. Mahinda Karunaratne. Received by committee member Eng. Shamal Pannila

## Young Engineers' Day Awards Presentation



Eng. Mihimal and Menuli conducting the Young Engineers Day Awards Presentation



The IESL President presenting the award to YED speaker Eng. Chathuri Madhusanka



The IESL President presenting the award to YED speaker Eng. Dr. Nilakshi Perera



The IESL President presenting the award to YED speaker Eng. Ragul Deep



The IESL President presenting the award to YED speaker Eng. Dinesh Mahanama



The IESL President presenting the award to YED speaker Dinushi Mudalige





The IESL President presenting the award to YED speaker Ramal Ratnayake

The IESL President presenting the award to YED speaker Thinesh Manisekaran



Engineering Excellence Awards Group Photograph



Special Recognition Awards Group Photograph



Past Chairs Awards Group Photograph



Young Engineers Day Awards Group Photograph